Aims

The Commission’s Mission is:

To extend international research and scholarship in economic geography through

  • the development and dissemination of critical theoretical, conceptual and methodological frameworks
  • the conduct of rigorous empirical and policy analyses
  • and the building of research capacity in economic geography in different national and institutional contexts

To promote international collaboration in research activity and the dissemination of research findings.
To facilitate knowledge transfer about economic geography and associated policy-related issues between countries and institutions.


Steering Committee

Chair: Nuri Yavan, Ankara University, Faculty of Language, History and Geography, Department of Geography, Ataturk Bulvari No:45, 06100 Sihhiye, Ankara, TURKEY. Email: nuri.yavan@ankara.edu.tr

Christine Tamásy,University of Greifswald, Institute for Geography and Geology, Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Straße 17a D-17487 Greifswald, GERMANY. Email: christine.tamasy@uni-greifswald.de 

Niels Beerpoort, University of Amsterdam. Amsterdam Institute for Metropolitan and International Development Studies, Nieuwe Prinsengracht 130, 1018 VZ Amsterdam Room: G2.16, NETHERLANDS. Email: n.p.c.beerepoot@uva.nl

Eva Kiss, Geographical Research Institute, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budaörsi út 45, H-1112. Budapest XI, HUNGARY. Faculty of Economics, West-Hungarian University, 9400 Sopron, Erzsébet u 9. HUNGARY. Email: kiss.eva@csfk.mta.hu

Hege Knutsen, University of Oslo, Department of Sociology and Human Geography, Moltke Moes vei 31 Harriet Holters hus0851 Oslo, NORWAY. Email: h.m.knutsen@sosgeo.uio.no

Rene Matlovic, Department of Geography and Regional Development, University of Presov, 17 Novemra Street, No. 15, 080 01 Presov, SLOVAK REPUBLIC, Email: rene.matlovic@unipo.sk

Charles Mather, Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John’s, Newfoundland, A1B 3X9, CANADA. Email: cmather@mun.ca

Piotr Pachura, Czestochowa University of Technolgy, European Faculty of Engineering, 42-201 Czestochowa, ul. Dabrowskiego 69, POLAND. Email: piotr.t.pachura@gmail.com

Bill Pritchard, School of Geosciences, University of Sydney, Madsen Building, Rm 450, NSW 2006, AUSTRALIA. Email: bill.pritchard@sydney.edu.au

Neil Reid, Department of Geography and Planning, The University of Toledo, Toledo, Ohio 43606 USA Email: neilreid@utoledo.edu

Michael Roche, Massey University, School of People, Environment and Planning, Private Bag 11 222, Palmerston North 4442, NEW ZEALAND. Email: m.m.roche@massey.ac.nz

Henry Wai-chung Yeung, Department of Geography, National University of Singapore, 1 Arts Link, 117570, SINGAPORE. Email: henryyeung@nus.edu.sg